The Shadow of the Wind

By: Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Series: Cemetery of Forgotten Books (#1)

Publication Date: 2001

Original Language: Spanish

Status: read

Location: Bookshelf One

Zafon, Carlos Ruiz. The Shadow of the Wind.

This book is one of my favorites, so I was so happy when San Diego chose it as this year’s selection for One Book, One San Diego. Despite having read it before and absolutely loving it, I found that I struggled to remember what it was about, so I welcomed the chance to reread it. I think that the true beauty of this book is its atmosphere; Barcelona is a mysterious, foggy, uniquely gothic setting. It’s no wonder to me now why I couldn’t recall the plot. It seems secondary to the feeling of the book. Yet, the plot is absolutely wonderful. In Shadow of the Wind, Young Daniel acquires a book that holds its own mystery, and he decides to investigate the strange life of the author, Julian Carax. Along the way, he encounters a beautiful blind woman, a murderous police officer, and perhaps the devil himself! This story contains several twists and turns, and I love every moment of it. It’s beautifully written and perfect for anyone who loves books – definitely a must-read.

Leave a Reply

