Out of my Mind

By: Sharon M. Draper

Publication Date: 2010

Status: read

Location: Bookshelf Three

Draper, Sharon. Out of my mind.

This book was incredible. I don’t often read children’s novels; I wouldn’t have even picked up this one had it not been for a grant my library won and the book club that I’m heading because of it. However, just because I don’t gravitate towards children’s literature doesn’t make Out of my Mind any less rewarding or beautiful. I laughed, I cried, and I fell in love with Melody and her family. Melody, the protagonist and narrator of the novel, is an 11 year-old girl who is extremely bright and kind. However, Melody also has cerebral palsy, which prevents her from talking and effectively moving without her wheelchair. The beauty of this book is that it doesn’t make the reader pity our heroine; in fact, we feel the exact opposite. I came out of this book feeling proud and astonished by the strength of this young girl in the face of adversity. My library has the good fortune to be hosting the wonderful Sharon Draper, and I am so excited to be able to meet her and let her know how much I enjoyed her novel.

Leave a Reply

