Bookshelf Tour 2017: Part 1

Here it is folks! Now that I’m in a new apartment and can – for the first time ever – display all of my books. I don’t know if I’ll be able to list all of them here, but I’m definitely going to try. First up, my TBR bookshelf:

img_7494

My tallest and most occupied shelf, the TBR shelf is chock-full of goodies. It is, as you can hopefully tell, organized by color. I’m hoping to knock half of these books out this year, so fingers crossed! Let’s start with the top shelf and work our way down:

IMG_7495.jpg

  1. Slaughterhouse-Five – Kurt Vonnegut
  2. Cat on a Hot Tin Roof – Tennessee Williams
  3. A Streetcar Named Desire – Tennessee Williams
  4. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell
  5. Valley of the Dolls – Jacqueline Susann
  6. The Bricks that Built the Houses – Kate Tempest
  7. Skylight – Jose Saramago
  8. The Sun Also Rises – Ernest Hemingway
  9. Dune – Frank Herbert
  10. Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese
  11. The Art Forger – B. A. Shapiro
  12. Fool – Christopher Moore
  13. Badass: The Birth of a Legend – Ben Thompson
  14. The Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco
  15. The Beggar and the Hare – Tuomas Kyro
  16. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot

Out of these, I have read the first three already; they are merely overflow from my other shelf. From the books that I haven’t read yet, I am really looking forward to Fangirl and The Art Forger. I feel like both will be very quick reads, and since I’m currently in a deep reading slump, I’m eager to get into some books that will re-inspire me to read more.

img_7496

  1. The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde
  2. In the Lake of the Woods – Tim O’Brien
  3. Dragonfly in Amber – Diana Gabaldon
  4. Bright Lights, Big City – Jay McInerney
  5. Cane River – Lalita Tademy
  6. One Hundred Names – Cecelia Ahern
  7. Portnoy’s Complaint – Philip Roth
  8. The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ – Philip Pullman
  9. All the Names – Jose Saramago
  10. The Swan Thieves – Elizabeth Kostova
  11. Angela’s Ashes – Frank McCourt
  12. Welcome to the Monkey House – Kurt Vonnegut
  13. The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher – Hilary Mantel
  14. Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel
  15. The Nest – Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

So in terms of books that I am most interested in reading, this shelf is a tough one: I’m conflicted between books that are more recent and relevant and books that I’ve had for a while and am now itching to read. For the former category, I received The Nest as a birthday present last year, and I really want to read it while people are still talking about it. Station Eleven will potentially be a grant-funded read at my library, so I need/want to read it so I can talk to patrons about it. Plus, who doesn’t enjoy a good post-apocalyptic novel? However, in the latter category, I’ve had The Eyre Affair since before I read Jane Eyre, and now that I have (three years ago), I really should read it. I also would love to get into Dragonfly in Amber because I want to watch the second season of Outlander, but maybe I should read the second book first….I don’t know. Those of you who have read/watched it, help me out!

img_7497

  1. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert M. Pirsig
  2. Everything is Illuminated – Jonathan Safran Foer
  3. Infinite Jest – David Foster Wallace
  4. Parable of the Sower – Octavia E. Butler
  5. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  6. The Enchanted – Rene Denfeld
  7. The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton
  8. Dr. Ox’s Experiment – Jules Verne
  9. A Pleasure to Burn – Ray Bradbury
  10. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
  11. The Language of Flowers – Vanessa Diffenbaugh
  12. Chronicle of a Death Foretold – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  13. The Sense of an Ending – Julian Barnes
  14. Red Rising – Pierce Brown
  15. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves – Karen Joy Fowler
  16. The Square of Revenge – Pieter Aspe

Is this the year I tackle Infinite Jest? Maybe. It’s my boyfriend’s favorite book, and he was the original person to recommend it to me, but its size is quite intimidating. Otherwise, I want to get through a Marquez book, and I’ve started Parable of the Sower and I really want to finish it. I’ve also heard great things about The Enchanted and The Miniaturist, albeit very different things, and I’m pretty interested in getting into those as well.

img_7498

  1. To Seek a Newer World – Robert F. Kennedy
  2. People of the Book – Geraldine Brooks
  3. Women Who Run with the Wolves – Clarissa Pinkola Estes
  4. Cleopatra – Stacey Schiff
  5. Daughter of Fortune – Isabel Allende
  6. The King Must Die – Mary Renault
  7. Invisible Monsters – Chuck Palahniuk
  8. The Devil in the White City – Erik Larson
  9. The Wee Free Men: The Beginning – Terry Pratchett
  10. The Magicians – Lev Grossman
  11. The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman
  12. Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas
  13. March – Geraldine Brooks
  14. Conquistadora – Esmeralda Santiago
  15. The Woman Who Would Be King – Kara Cooney
  16. The Little Friend – Donna Tartt

There is no better time than the present to read a Robert F. Kennedy book. As my favorite Kennedy (the competition isn’t very tough), Bobby was an inspiring man, and I firmly believe that the world would be a different place if he lived longer. I also think this is the year that I read a Donna Tartt book. The one I really want is The Secret History, but I’ll settle for The Little Friend.

img_7499

  1. The Association of Small Bombs – Karan Mahajan
  2. The Little Paris Bookshop – Nina George
  3. The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt
  4. The Blind Assassin – Margaret Atwood
  5. Americanah – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  6. Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm – Philip Pullman
  7. Catch-22 – Joseph Heller
  8. Consider the Lobster – David Foster Wallace
  9. The Lowland – Jhumpa Lahiri
  10. A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  11. Adultery -Paulo Coelho
  12. The Illustrated Screwtape Letters – C.S. Lewis
  13. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
  14. Dream More – Dolly Parton
  15. To The Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
  16. Dissident Gardens – Jonathan Lethen
  17. The Marriage Plot – Jeffrey Eugenides

Oh my. This might be my favorite shelf. A Little Life is a tome, but it was my most exciting Christmas present this year. I’ve wanted to read Americanah for ages, and I just went on a road trip from California to Tennessee to go to Dollywood, so what’s more amazing than an inspirational book by the one and only Dolly Parton? I also have a sneaking suspicion that I really like Virginia Woolf, but I haven’t read much other than A Room of One’s Own. In other words, I should read To the Lighthouse.

Leave a Reply

